Around my 25th birthday last year, I made a life plan, more specifically, a five year life plan. Turning 25 was a big deal for me. I contemplated my life and thought of the things I’ve done and achieved, but I came up disappointed. Make no mistake, having and raising a child with the man I love surpasses anything I could’ve ever conceptualized, but now it’s time to think of our future together, and how to make it a remarkable one.

Why a five year plan, you ask? It’s simple. In five years, I’ll be 30 and I don’t want to be struggling emotionally, physically, spiritually, or financially. I want to be sure of myself. I want my body, mind, and spirit to finally align. I’ve come across multiple articles (when I was on a quest to make sure I wasn’t the only one feeling this way) about how your twenties are all about finding yourself, going through personal struggles, but eventually figuring your life out.

Additionally, I thought I would’ve figured my life out by now, I thought I’d be a college graduate with a career, making a hefty income, living independently, traveling, and just living life to the absolute fullest. Like always, shit happens, things don’t go as planned, but you just work with what you’ve been given, stay grateful, and move on. I decided I didn’t want to relive my regrets, dwell on what should’ve, could’ve, or would’ve been, but instead, what my life will be.

Keeping all that in mind, I’d like to share with you my five year plan. What I’ve written, was done several months ago on the notes section of my phone. I wanted it written down somewhere easily accessible so that I could visualize myself attaining these things while reading through it everyday.

Here’s my list. Unedited:

(This list also contains my boyfriend’s plans which are based on our numerous conversations. It wouldn’t make sense if I had a life plan that didn’t include his aspirations)

  • Associate degree in Supervision and Management-Graduate Spring 2018
  • Bachelors of Science degree in Public Administration -Graduate Spring 2020
  • Master of Public Administration-Graduate Spring 2021
  • Boyfriend’s certification/trade-Graduate Spring 2020 (start Fall 2018)
  • Holding down our part-time/full-time jobs (possibly including health care and life insurance) all while we complete our degrees/certification and continue to save in the mean time
  • Married (bohemian/nature aesthetics)
  • More babies (possibly two more at  27, and 29 years old. No more kids after 30)
  • More plant babies (be able to live off of our personal garden of herbs, veggies, and fruits, as well as a ton of cacti, succulents, lithops, etc.)
  • Home owners (a beautiful modern and minimalist home with a ton of greenery/garden and back yard entertainment area-long-term), get our own apartment (short-term)
  • Long-term careers (based off of  our degree(s)/certification obtained, definitely comes with a health care and life insurance plan)
  • Personal business that involves our hobbies and creativity (create a business plan)
  • Large savings (for our child(ren))
  • No debt and high credit scores
  • Travel (experience other cultures)
  • Stay educated (self-efficacy and self-knowledge)
  • Happiness and positive vibrations within
  • Successful
  • Living an authentic, organic, cruelty-free, and vegan life (body and skin care, makeup products and tools, scrubs, lotions, oils, clothes, and food and beverages included)
  • Healthy and fit lifestyles
  • “Aspire to Inspire” and to spread and radiate positivity in other’s lives.

Tada!  It’s a pretty basic list, but it helps me to have it all written down. When it’s all laid out in front of me, it gives me hope that I actually know what I’m doing with my life, what I want out of life, and I’m not just wasting my time. I suggest that everyone write a personal life plan, if you don’t have one already. It puts your life back in to perspective, even if it’s only for a short while.

In my next post, I’ll elaborate on how me and my boyfriend plan on executing these goals using not just any secret, but The Secret. (HINT).

Leave a Reply

